Skip to content

Valedictorian urges classmates to help others

A new day has dawned for West County’s Class of 2003 following commencement ceremonies Friday night.

Valedictorian Karen DeMaria told the large crowd she had mixed emotions about graduating, saying she is excited yet sad to be leaving West County High School. DeMaria thanked everyone who played a role in making her class what it has become.

“Each and every one of us is a structure,” DeMaria said. “We must remember we were prepared for this day for a reason.”

DeMaria encouraged her classmates to now help others, including West County’s underclassmen, so they may enjoy their high school years as well.

Salutatorian Megan Marler thanked parents, friends and family for guiding the class through their formative years. Marler congratulated her classmates for their achievements as well.

The high school choir sang three songs, including the recently adopted school song, the first school song in West County history.

“An American Celebration” was performed by the concert band, and several students who were members of the National Honor Society, had obtained their college preparatory certificates, or earned scholarships were also honored.

West County High School Graduating Class of 2003

– Casey Nichole Ashley, Jim Ray Aycock, Chad Ryan Barbee, + Grant Alan Becker, + Julie Marie Brakefield, + Amy Suzanne Brinkley, David Lea Brock, Robert Joseph Brock, Sammie Jo Bunch, Heather Brianna Burg, Cassi Lynn Cannell, Grant Michael Cavelli**, Brittany Dawn Childers, Jodie Michelle Brooks (Counts), Elizabeth Crump, Brittaney Paige Curry, + Karen Rose DeMaria**, Lisa Nichole Dontrich, Theresa Rene Eaton, Shawnna Leigh Evans, + Amanda Kay Fancher, + Amy Louise Fisk, Seth Bradley Fudge, + Lisa Michelle Hardy**, Joshua Nathan Harrison, Alan Wyatt Hickman, Katie Deanne Hopwood, Dorothy Jean Hurst, + Eric Daniel Lawson**, Thera Anne Lopez, Jennifer Ann Lozano, Candace Louyann Lynch, Matthew Boyd Lynch**, + Lisa Nicole Malone, + Megan Elizabeth Marler**, + Jedidiah (Jed) Wade Momot**, Chad Everett Mosier, + Elizabeth Ann Mosier**, Tiffany Lynn Nichols, Amanda Danielle Nickles, Terri Lynn Pulliam, Tara Suzanne Roney, Nicole Marie Scoggin, Julie Ann Simily**, Jason Michael Somerville, Jennifer Louise Snyder, +Stephanie Nicole Stevens**, – James C. Sutphin, Ashley Dawn Thurman, Lawanna Jean Tongay.

+ NHS Members

– Receiving Diploma Inabsentia

** College Preparatory Certificate

Leave a Comment