Skip to content

Raiders land four players on All-Conference team

Daily Journal Sports Writer

FARMINGTON – The six coaches of the MAAA Large-School baseball conference have selected 13 players to their 2004 All-Conference team. The regular season and conference tournament champions, the North County Raiders are prevalent once again with four representatives.

Senior slugger Adam Howard hit for a .548 average and connected for 10 home runs and 34 RBI to lead the division in all three statistical categories. Joining Howard on the team from North County are seniors Lucas Hulsey and Shea Brady, along with junior Ryan Blankenship.

Brady led all pitchers in the league in wins with 10, and strikeouts with 120. Hulsey was second in the conference with six homers and 27 RBI, while finishing third in batting average (.438).

Farmington saw three of its players receive All-Conference honors. Senior Derek Wiles and junior Stuart Sago were a strong pitching tandem throughout the season for the Knights. Outfielder and lead-off hitter, Josh Kimrey is the lone sophomore to make the team.

Fredericktown is one of two clubs to place a pair of athletes on the squad. Senior Joaby Sikes batted .386 on the year to lead the Blackcats at the plate. Senior Kyle Tesreau enjoyed plenty of success on the mound, posting a microscopic 0.68 ERA.

Central is strongly represented by their top pitcher and clean-up hitter, Brock Boren, as well as second baseman Ronnie Calvird, who hit .403 to lead the Rebel offense. Calvird is the only freshman to make the team.

Andy Miller is the lone player on the list from Ste. Genevieve. The versatile senior was the winning pitcher in five of the Dragons’ seven victories this year. He also finished second in the conference in hitting with a .451 average.

Potosi also had one of its senior players recognized as Ted Hochstatter was voted in by the coaches.

Eight additional players received Honorable Mention. Farmington seniors Marcus Hoehn and Chris Bone were key contributors in the Knights’ run to a district championship.

Senior Tyler Hendrix and junior D.J. Hinkle earned Honorable Mention from Fredericktown. They are joined by the Ste. Genevieve duo of Houston Meyer and Dustin Fallert. Rounding out the group are senior Albert Cooley of North County, and junior Brice Boren of Central.

Leave a Comment