Skip to content

Madison County has been awarded federal funds under the Phase 23 Emergency Food and Shelter National Board Program.

Madison County has been chosen to receive $6,136.00 to supplement the emergency food and shelter program in the area.

The selection was made by the National Board that is chaired by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and consists of representatives from The Salvation Army, American Red Cross, Council of Jewish Federations, Catholic Charities, U.S.A., National Council of Churches in Christ in the U.S.A. and the United Way of America which will distribute funds appropriated by Congress to help the capacity of food and shelter program in high-need areas around the country.

A local board made up of representatives from county government, Red Cross, Salvation Army, Ministerial Alliance, St. Vincent DePaul, and other community organizations will determine how the funds awarded to Madison County are to be distributed among the emergency food and shelter programs run by local service organizations in the area. The local board is responsible for recommending agencies to receive these funds and any additional funds available under this phase of the program.

Under the terms of the grant from the National Board, local government or private voluntary organizations chosen to receive funds must: 1.) be non-profit, 2.) have an accounting system and conduct an annual audit, 3.) practice non-discrimination, 4.) have demonstrated the capability to deliver emergency food and shelter programs, and 5.) if they are private voluntary organizations, they must have a voluntary board. Qualifying organizations are urged to apply.

Madison County has distributed emergency food and shelter funds previously with East Missouri Action Agency and local food pantries participating. These agencies were responsible for providing 2,041 meals, 270 nights of lodging, and assistance on 8 utility bills in 2004.

Further information on the program may be obtained by contacting Keri McCrorey of East Missouri Action Agency at (573) 431-5191, or the local EFSP Board Chairperson, Denise Sisk (573) 431-2427.

Leave a Comment