Skip to content

Filing begins for August primary

Tuesday, February 28, was the first day for candidates to file for the August 8 Primary Election.

Last week, Madison County Clerk Joan Whitener announced she would be opening the courthouse at 5 a.m., Tuesday to allow early-arrivers a chance to come inside.

Several individuals took Whitener up on the offer. At least ten candidates were in the courthouse when filing offically began at 8 a.m., Tuesday.

As of press time, Tuesday afternoon, those who filed are:

For Presiding Commissioner, Democrat incumbent, Ken Pate; Republicans Larry Mungle and Daniel Bathe

For County Clerk Democrat Belinda (Bimbi) Lopez and Donal E. Firebaugh; Republican, Nadean Rice and Saundra Ivison.

For County Treasurer, Republican incumbent Kay Rehkop and Democrats Sherry E. Polete and Allison Cook Boyer.

For County Collector, Democrat Dana Brewington, and Republicans Doris Huffman, Bill Hart, Charla Francis Royer, and Sherry Whitener Boyd.

For County Prosecutor, Republican Lora E. Cooper.

For Circuit Clerk, Democrat incumbent Eileen Provow.

For Recorder of Deeds, Democrat incumbent Paula Francis.

For Associate Circuit Judge, Republican incumbent Robert C. Stillwell.

Leave a Comment