Skip to content

Five incumbents return to school board seats

It was a combination of challengers and incumbents that got elected in school board races on Tuesday. Out of eight available seats, five incumbents were re-elected while three challengers were elected to seats.


Marshall D. Latham and Stanley Jackson were elected to seats on the Bismarck School Board during Tuesday’s election. Jackson was an incumbent and captured 398 votes. Latham, a challenger, received 421 votes. Incumbent Faron Henson received 323 votes.

Jackson said he was a bit surprised by the election results.

&#8220I’m very happy,” Jackson said. &#8220It means a lot to me serving on the board. This means that I will be able to stay involved to see some of the things that we have started through. The past four years have been very positive for me. I look forward to another four years.”

Latham said he was surprised by the large number of votes he received.

&#8220All of the guys that ran are good guys,” Latham said. &#8220I am surprised. I didn’t know how the vote would come out. I don’t have a big agenda. I am just going to try to keep looking after the best interests of the kids and the school district.”


Incumbents Jack Marler and Dennis Politte were re-elected to their seats on the Central School Board. In St. Francois County Marler received 332 votes, Politte received 307 votes and Bryan Manion received 248 votes.

North County

John &#8220Jack” Poston and Charles E. Farr Sr. came out the two winners in the crowded North County School Board race.

Poston received 530 votes while Farr, an incumbent, received 382 votes. They will serve three-year terms on the school board.

Others candidates receiving votes were Steve Martin with 306; Scott Bockenkamp, 301; Terry Rickard, 280; Shawn Kay, 249; and David Ruble, 79. There were two write-in votes.

Poston said he was pleased with the results.

&#8220I’m very grateful to the voters who marked my spot,” Poston said.

He said he did not see it as running against anyone, but running for the school board. He said he was pleased the other candidates got a good number of votes, as well.

Farr was happy with the results but disappointed about the voter turnout. &#8220I’m glad to be back,” he said.

West County

One incumbent will keep his seat on the West St. Francois County School Board and a former member will return after a year off.

According to Tuesday’s unofficial results, incumbent Rick Lawson received 193 votes to keep his position for a fourth term.

&#8220I would just like to thank all the people who voted for me,” Lawson said Tuesday night. &#8220I hope I can do an even better job.”

John French, a nine-year veteran of the board who lost by one vote last year, received the second highest number of votes among the eight candidates. French received 170 votes.

&#8220I’m happy to be back, because I really enjoy working with those kids and the schools,” he said. &#8220I’d just like to thank everybody who voted, not just those who voted for me. I think it’s very important to get out and vote.”

Dale Whelehon received 163 votes; Cleta Cash, 150; Brent Belfield, 135 votes; Jim Rasnick, 130; Tami Barton, 110; Leslie E. Farley, 31 and there were five write-in votes cast.

Leave a Comment