Skip to content

Normal routine at SFCR gives wins for Worley and Thompson

FARMINGTON — In the wake of last Saturday nights “marathon” program, racing got back to a normal routine. All racing was completed by 11 p.m. The Sprint Division action found a familiar face in the Winner Circle. Tommy Worley, Jr, of Farmington cashed in on a mid race problem by Joey Montgomery of Fredericktown.

Montgomery, still looking for his first win in 2008, led the field to the green and immediately placed distance between himself and the field. Jason Hunt, Worley, Tim Montgomery and Jason Keith gave hot pursuit. The race was halted by a lap-one caution for Eric Zeigler’s and Mark Siciliano’s tangle off turn two.

On the restart, Montgomery picked it up where he left off and was in a position to destroy the field. However, on Lap 15, Montgomery came off turn two and found the car of Keith Burch close to the line he was running.  Getting on the brakes to avoid a collision, the car tagged the wall, blew a tire to end Montgomery’s race.

Worley assumed the lead on Lap 16 and never looked back.  When asked in the post race interview about the Montgomery incident. Worley said “It was Joey’s race to win.”

Worley was chased to the finish by Jason Hunt, Jason Keith, Brian Matthews, and Tim Montgomery.

Brent Thompson returned to the Winners Circle on Saturday as he bested a field of 29 Modifieds. Jeremy Greenwalt, looking for his first feature win in the Modified, started on the pole position.  Past winners Matt Eaton and Billy Smith were in the second row looking for another win. This was also double points night and a chance to make or lose more ground toward the season championship.  

Competition in the Modified division is always at a premium. Any given night 15 cars are capable of winning. More than once a winner from a previous week has either not made the show or had to work through the B-Mains to get in.

Thompson only had to survive two caution periods in the 15 Lap event. Both minor in nature as Jimmy Black had a spinning car and Alan Conner had his mount stall in turn one.

Thompson was followed over the strip by Jeremy Greenwalt, Billy Smith, Matt Eaton, and last weeks winner David Shepard.

Farmington’s John Bohn collected his fifth win in the Pure Street Division. His car ran flawlessly in the win.  Bohn did have to work a little. Shane Blair, looking for his first feature win in 2008, ran out of the gate on the green flag. His lead lasted one Lap as he spun-out off turn four on the second Lap.  

Mike Savage inherited the lead followed by Kasey Nations, Bohn and Brian Blair, and this race would go the distance from here. Bohn led Nations, Brian Blair, Savage and Josh “Fireball” Skaggs under the checkers.

Ryan Kempin, the 2008 point leader in the 600cc Multi Division, extended his lead in the standings with another win. Surviving a couple of caution periods, Kempin did receive a challenge from Andy Malpocker of St Charles at the end.  He held his ground and got the victory. Kempin, Malpocker, Tom Sydnor, “Super Dave” Chilton, and Brian Keen finshed in the top five.

Fireworks at Intermission were from Mercer’s Fireworks in Potosi. St Francois County raceway will be closed on July 5th. The night was scheduled off for the  World of Outlaws at I-55 Raceway.  However, the recent flooding problems in Pevely have forced the cancellation of that event, too..

Racing at St Francois County Raceway will continue on July 12 with our regular classes of cars returning. Winged “410” Sprints, IMCA type Modifieds, Pure Streets and 600 cc Multi. Gates open at 4:00, Hot laps at 6:15, Racing at 7:00. Admission at the front gate is $10 for adults, children under 12 free, with a paid adult.  Pit Passes are $25.

Information is always available on the track website at

Leave a Comment