Skip to content

Madison County Election Results

Madison County voters came out in great numbers, Tuesday night. Of Madison County’s 7,194 registered voters, 5,107 (71 percent) voted in the November 4, General Election.

And those voters decided to elect Republicans Dennis Bradford and Larry Mungle as their County Commissioners.  In District I, Incumbent Bradford defeated Democrat Keith DeSpain, 1,279-1,077. In District II, Mungle defeated his Democrat opponent, Incumbent Terry Hovis, 1,455-1,157.

In the race for State Representative 156th District, the tallies from three counties (including Madison) were needed to determine the overall winner. Republican Shelley Keeney defeated Democrat Mike Winder, 8,261-6,987. In Madison County the vote was 2,551-2,408 in favor of Winder. In Bollinger County, Keeney outpaced Winder, 3,400-2,331. In Wayne County, it was Keeney over Winder, 2,453-2,105.

In other Madison County contested races, Incumbent Democrat Chris Follis won the race for Coroner, 3,604-1,380 over Republican Larry Whitchurch.

For Madison County Assessor, Democrat Barbara Martin topped Republican Bud Allen, 2,570-2,297.

Republican Carol LaChance won the race for Public Administrator. She defeated Democrat Larry Brewington, 2,805-2,109.

In uncontested local races, Democrat Sheriff David Lewis received 4,360 votes and Democrat County Surveyor Doug McFarland received 4,333.

The rest of the races included voters in other counties or throughout the state and nation. The following results from those races are for Madison County voters only:

For President of the United States, Republican John McCain received 2,897 votes. Democrat Barack Obama received 2,042.

For State Senate in the 27th District, Republican Incumbent Jason Crowell received 2,778 votes. Democrat Linda Sanders received 2,069.

For U.S. Congress, 8th District, Republican Incumbent JoAnn Emerson received 3,582 votes and Democrat Joe Allen received 1,344.

For Missouri Governor, Democrat Jay Nixon received 2,719 votes. Republican Kenny Hulshof received 2,160.

For Lt. Governor Republican Peter Kinder received 3,024 votes, and Democrat Sam Page received 1,815.

In the Secretary of State’s race, Incumbent Democrat Robin Carnahan received 3,012 votes, compared with 1,765 for Republican Mitchell Hubbard.

Republican Brad Lager received 2,557 votes for State Treasurer. Democrat Clint Zweifel received 2,120.

For Missouri Attorney General, Republican Mike Gibbons received 2,333 votes and Democrat Chris Koster received 2,498.

Leave a Comment