Skip to content

National Honor Society Ceremony

National Honor Society (NHS) is a service organization dedicated to student performance in scholarship, service, leadership, and character.

The local chapter’s initiation ceremony was on November 14, 2010 at the Centene Center. Nearly 50 students were honored at the induction ceremony; adjunct instructor Jim Kellog was the keynote speaker.  Also, the new inductees honored faculty members who had been influential mentors. 

The local NHS officers are as follows: President Nicholas Sutherland, Drew Fuemmeler, Vice President, Zach Thomas, Treasurer, Morgan Ankrom, Secretary, Kelbie Eaves, Historian, and Karter Denman, Public Relations Secretary. The officers are developing a service project for the spring that includes rehabbing the high school’s courtyard.

“It’s an honor to be chosen among the 1,200 students at FHS and to be selected among my peers is a privilege,” said Denman.

The NHS chapter establishes guidelines for selection that are based upon a student’s performance in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership, and character. Students, to be eligible for consideration, must first have a 9.5 cumulative GPA and must have at least junior status.

Final selection is made by a vote from the five-member Faculty Council, a selection committee appointed by the principal, considering the student’s performance in scholarship, service, leadership, and character.

Leave a Comment