Skip to content

Filings for April election end

Filings for the April 5 municipal election ended on Tuesday. The list below contains names of those who filed in their respective city and/or school district.

Bismarck School District

Three incumbents and three challengers have filed for three open seats. In the order of filing, they are Matthew A. Jackson, Steve “Bull” Barton, Norman Loughary, Robert (Rob) McClane, C. Kenneth Wakefield and Michael Randazzo.

Central School District

Voters will fill three school board seats in April, choosing from incumbents Kenny Douglas, Tom Gibson and Denny Norris and challengers Walt Redecker, Mike (Molly) Clements, Jimmy Manion, Joshua Kennon, C. Elaine Gordon, Ed Stephens, Tom Jennings and Tim Stephens. 

Farmington School District

Incumbents Jim Ragland and Larry Sebastian have filed for school board seats along with challengers Angela Hahn, Jeff Lawson, Craig Schnebelen, Ben Davis and Howard Hoehn. There are three seats open.

North County School District

Pete Selzer, Ginger Hand, Garrett Harbron, Janice Neubrand, Allen Baranovic, and Tracy Williams have filed for the three three-year terms available on the North County school board. The current office holders are Keith Bannister, Neubrand and Barry McCord. Bannister decided not to seek another term.

George Merritt, Ray Settle III and McCord have filed to finish the last two years of Darrell Coulter’s term. Coulter resigned this month because he planned to move outside the district. The board appointed Lisa Umfleet to fill the vacancy until the April election

West County School District

In West County, school board incumbents Clyde Briley Jr., Lynn Frago and Brett Forshee have filed for re-election. They are being challenged by Andy Kearns, Erik Schonhardt and Jimmy Branon. 


Both of Bismarck’s wards will have races come the April election.

Ward 1 incumbent LaDonna Haefner will be challenged by Ryan J. Wallis. In Ward 2 incumbent Carol A. Baker will face off against Larry Barton


In Desloge, Incumbent Mayor David Kater has filed for re-election. Also filing for aldermen are incumbents Jim ‘Yogi’ Jones, Chris Gremminger and Jerry Hulsey.


As for the four city council seats up for grabs, so far there are two contested races.

Ward 1 incumbent Jeff Firehammer has yet to file for another term. Local businessman and insurance agent John Robinson has filed for the position.

In Ward 2 the incumbent, Bob Bone Jr., is completing his first term in office. To date he has not filed for another term. Resident Corey Gibson has filed for the seat.

Wards 3 and 4 have contested races at this point. Ward 3 incumbent Dennis Smith is being opposed by Charles Weaver, while Ward 4 incumbent Joe McMillen is being challenged by Kevin Schrum.

To date no one has filed to oppose current city attorney Kevan Karraker. 


In the city of Leadington, there will be a three-way race for two board of aldermen seats. Incumbents Jim Hurt and Katrina Wakefield are both seeking another term. Resident Casie Braddy hopes to unseat one of the two to take a place on the board.

Mayor Troy Dickens will be running unopposed for another term.


John Hartley Sr. and Jeff Mahurin have filed for the Leadwood mayoral seat currently held by Dennis Bayless. Bayless has not filed for re-election.

In Ward I, Pete Hackworth will challenge incumbent Allen Dalton.

In Ward II, John Vickers will face Connie Bayless for the seat currently held by Charles “Tiny” Lewis. Lewis was appointed in June to replace Alderman Donnie Eaton, who resigned from the board for health reasons.

Incumbent Sarah Moyers has filed for the one-year, unexpired term of city clerk. Moyers was appointed in October to replace Dottie Banks, who resigned that month for health reasons. Banks had been appointed to replace Debra Bevington shortly after Bevington’s election to the position in April to take the position of municipal court clerk.

Park Hills 

In Ward I, incumbent Tracy McRaven is being challenged by Matthew Rector. In Ward II, incumbent Linda Dickerson will be challenged by Sara Cruse. 

Incumbents Tom Reed in Ward III and Larry Kelly in Ward IV are unopposed in their bids for re-election.

Special Road District #2

William Hoppe is unopposed for the seat on the board of the Special Road District #2.

St. Francois County Ambulance

The two incumbents filed for their positions, Al Sullivan Jr. in District 1 and James Snavely in District 4.

Bonne Terre

Harold Morgan filed for Bonne Terre Ward 1.

Stan Janis, Shawn Kay and Incumbent Cindy Driemeier have filed for Ward 3. 

Lee Roy Calvert, who became mayor when Fritz Gower resigned, has filed for mayor.

Iron Mountain Lake

In Iron Mountain Lake, Robert Lincoln and Dan Edwards filed for Ward 1; Roger Stodgell filed for Ward 2; and Gene Bartley filed for Ward 3.

Leave a Comment