Skip to content

Voters return members to Leadwoood board

Leadwood voters on Tuesday returned the existing members to the board of aldermen with a healthy margin in each race.

“I think this shows that we are on right track,” said Mayor Dennis Parks, who won his bid for re-election. “We might not have everything done yet, but we are heading in the right direction. We will work together to go forward.”

Parks received 134 votes to 60 for Jeffrey Mahurin for the one-year mayoral term. Parks had been appointed to finish out the first year of former Mayor John Hartley after Hartley resigned in November. He will now finish the second year of Hartley’s term.

Two aldermen switched places in their successful bids for re-election to the board. Anna Woods beat Randy Beckett, 43 to 24, for the two-year term in Ward 1. Ken Meinershagen currently holds that seat, but ran successfully for Woods’ seat, a one-year term in Ward 1. Meinershagen received 43 votes to 25 for Kevin Goforth.

Ward 2 Alderman Mark Kelly and City Clerk Sarah Moyers were unopposed in their successful bids for re-election.

Winners will take their newly elected seats at the April 23 meeting.

Leave a Comment