Skip to content

West County graduates 82 seniors

The West County High School gymnasium was filled almost to capacity as 82 proud members of the Class of 2012 took part in commencement Friday night.

The ceremony began with the processional of graduates as the school band played “Pomp and Circumstance” under the direction of Bernard Laiben. Principal Eric Moyers welcomed those assembled followed by two additional selections played by the band, a PowerPoint presentation, and two songs sung by the school choir under the direction of Ryan Hassell.

National Honor Society members were recognized by Tina Richards; Student Body President Kyle Harrison recognized the seniors; and the salutatorian and valedictorian addresses were given.

Salutatorian Victoria Grace King told her fellow graduates that each of their lives had been enriched by the years spent at West County High School and reminded them that “the whole world will be what we make of it.”

Valedictorian Kacie Jane Scott admitted that her two main goals for the evening had been “not to trip” and “not to cry” during her address. As she reminded the graduates that it had taken “years to get here,” she said “I hope that we look back on it and remember the good and not the bad.” Kacie thanked Principal Moyers and shared examples of teachers who had helped her and her fellow graduates “along the way.”

She offered special praise for her parents’ support through the years, as well as the appreciation she felt for her fellow graduates — some of whom she’d known since kindergarten.

Kacie concluded her address saying, “It’s not good-bye, it’s see you later.”

Following the addresses, seniors who had received preparatory certificates and scholarships were recognized.

Presentation of the class was made by West County Superintendent Stacy Stevens, Principal Moyers and Board of Education President Brett Forshee.   

The Class of 2012 graduates are Virginia Therresa Louise Ancona, Paige Alexandra Baker, Lacey Kay Barbre, Cody Alan Barton, Marissa Lynna Beck, Jacob Linn Brewer, Billy Joe Allen Bridges, Megan Elizabeth Britton, Tammie Kay Bunch, Lauren Alyssa Callahan, Kayla Megan Carroll, Jennifer Sue Cliff, Ryan Michael Clines, Jacob Colt Conway, Joshua Tanner Conway, Kortnie Marie Copeland;

Tyler James Dane, Rikki Jean Davis, Colleen Jocelyn Dierking, Brittany Michelle Eggers, James Matthew Ferrell, Megan Leanne Fitzwater, Paige LeeAnn Forshee, William Mack Fox, Shawn Gordon Fudge, Steven Lee Geiler, Kaitlyn Danyelle Gettinger, Rhonda Lynn Gibson, Matthew Austin Godat, Charles Darren Gore, Joseph Alexander Gosser, Shawnee Alexis Harrington, Kyle Joesph Harrison, Maranda Jane Hedrick, Andrew Caleb Hodge;

Angelique Faith Carollynn Howell, Dylan Levi Ives, Melissa Rose Janis, James Logan Matthew Jennings, Torrie Rashell Jones, Miranda Ashleigh Kerns, Abby Monay Ketcherside, Victoria Grace King,  Christopher Eric LaChance, Morgan Briley LaChance, Justin Daniel Eugene Lashley, Bailey Michell Latham, Larissa MiChelle Martin, Tyler Blaine Maxson, Nicholas Alexander Miller, Jessica Danielle Mills, Brandon Cleveland Moore;

Ronald Nelson Morgan, Jordan Lea Mull, Randy Michael Lee Politte, Gary Steven Poss, Mollie Andrea Pratt, Jessica Gettie Radford, Ashlie Lanae’ Rayfield, Christian Turner Reid, Emily Justine Resinger, Courtney Dianne Richards, Cody William Ross, Taylor Dean Ryan, Connor John Sampson, Kacie Jane Scott, Kristin Lee Siegel, Anna Marie Smith, Justin Labon Stark, Linzie Nichelle Stokes, Brittany Deserea Strange, Zak Gregory Turner;

Frank David Vogelpohl, Jesse James Waters, Tasha Rae Watkins, Tate Randell Watson, Tyler Joesph-Allen Weibrecht, Rebecca Danielle Weiss, Ethan Ryan Wells, Sidney Leann Wells, William Jacob Whitehead and Bradley James Zaricor.

Kevin R. Jenkins is a reporter for the Daily Journal and can be reached at 573-431-2010, ext. 114 or at

Leave a Comment