Skip to content

Harold Wright Award winners named

Farmington Middle School staff and students recognized five eighth grade students last week with the Harold Wright Award.

The Harold Wright Award winners must meet five criteria in order to be considered for the award. The criteria are citizenship, academic achievement, interdisciplinary team recommendation, positive behavior in school and extra-curricular involvement.

Brandi Burlbaw, team Triton instructor, said the teachers went through their rosters and had to choose one student from each team to award.

The winner from the Triton team was Charles Cook.

Carla Gibbs, team Miners instructor, said the winner from their team gets straight As in all four of their classes plus participates in extra curricular activities and is one to never say anything negative.

Tappan Westbrook was this year’s winner from the Miners team.

Jill Braddy, Roos instructor, said they chose two finalists this year. Their girl winner is outgoing, stands up for others, is creative and gives 110 percent. Their boy winner is respectful and this year on a quiz missed one and wanted it back so he could fix the answer he missed.

The winners for the Roos are Ryan Propst and Callista Nickelson.

Sarah Lankford, Bears instructor, said this year’s winner made some big impact.

The winner for the Bears team was Justine Winick.

Farmington Middle School Principal Dr. Dorothy Winslow said this year the students receive a $25 check to go toward their college because their are so many winners this year. The students will each have their name on a plaque at the Farmington Middle School.

The Harold Wright Award was set up in 1997 as a way for family and friends to honor him for his work with the Farmington School District.

Leave a Comment