Skip to content

Ahrens leads MAC to cross country victory

ELSAH, Ill. – Brad Ahrens completed the fastest 6-kilometer time among 42 competitors at 20:04, and the Mineral Area men rolled to a cross country team victory on Friday.

The Cardinals defeated four NCAA Division III programs – Coe College, Westminster, Blackburn and host Principia – in their second meet of the season.

Nick Daugherty (21:22) finished fifth and Nathan St. Clair (21:43) took sixth overall. Elijah Myers (21:56) and Brayden Mullins (21:56) completed the MAC team score.

They were followed by teammates Lucas Smith (22:14), Hunter Tallent (22:31), Robert Roland (23:27), Levi Wiegand (23:35) and Sam Knight (23:41).

Coe dominated the 4-km women’s contest with the top four individuals. Abigail Dean (18:26) clocked the best result of fifth for Mineral Area.

Grace Bone (19:07) and Keira Finn (19:34) were seventh and ninth, respectively, while Janson King (19:56) and Melayna Brown (20:52) also landed within the top half of the field. Aubree Jones (23:42) rounded out the Cardinals.

Leave a Comment