Skip to content

MAC runners increase distance, competition level at Prairie Star

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. – The Mineral Area cross country teams each finished fourth among eight attending schools on Friday at the Prairie Star Invitational.

Host school Illinois-Springfield, an NCAA Division II program, dominated the men’s race with five of the top six runners overall. Noah McIntyre and Courtland Ross led the individual 7K chase at 21:37.

Brad Ahrens (22:42) again paced Mineral Area in 11th spot overall with 73 runners on the course.

He was followed in the Cardinals lineup by Brayden Mullins (24:12), Nathan St. Clair (24:21), Elijah Myers (24:30), Lucas Smith (25:20), Levi Wiegand (25:25) and Hunter Talent (25:36).

The women covered a 5K distance with Christina Shaginaw (18:27) of Purdue Northwest racing to the individual title among 57 participants.

Riley Petsch (21:14) was the first Mineral Area athlete to cross in 19th place. Abigail Dean (21:59), Grace Bone (22:39), Keira Finn (23:29) and Janson King (23:52) rounded out the team points.


Leave a Comment