Skip to main contentSkip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.

Students honored at Farmington Middle School

  • 0

On their last full day of school, students, staff and faculty at Farmington Middle School held its annual awards ceremony to recognize the accomplishments of several students.

This year, the school awarded the prestigious Harold Wright Award to four deserving students. Receiving the award was Abigail Doty, Madison Kochis, Michelle Dollins and Abigail Hogan.

The Harold Wright Award is presented to selected eighth grade students from each interdisciplinary team and is based upon five components: citizenship, academic achievement, interdisciplinary team recommendation, positive behavior and extra-curricular involvement.

The award is named in memory of the former middle school principal and longtime educator.

Part of the excitement during the award presentation is the students have no prior knowledge of who will be receiving the award until their name has been called.

“I was very shocked and surprised,” said Kochis. “I saw my family was here and I had no idea why.”

According to her mother, Renae, they did a good job of keeping it a secret.

“We are very proud of her today," she said. "We always knew she had good character.”

In addition to the Harold Wright Award, the school also presented this year’s Student Integrity Award to Sloane Elam.

The award is presented to an eighth grade student who best exhibits the eight pillars of integrity: accountability, perseverance, service, empathy, humility, courageous leadership, respect and honesty.

During the assembly, the school also recognized eight seventh graders with a certificate for taking the ACT. Receiving a certificate were Holle Bryant, Alex Compton, Talon Jones, Trey McKinney, Madeline Potter, Samantha Warren, Cassandra Widdows and Lane Wigger.

In addition, Warren and Jones qualified for the Center of Summer Studies; McKinney, Widdows and Wigger qualified for the Academy of Summer Students and two students - Warren and Jones - qualified for state recognition.

The school also recognized the seventh and eighth grade students who had gone the full school year without any absences 

Before the ceremony had ended, the school recognized Susan McGee, a social studies teacher with 30 years of experience, who retired at the end of the school year. Additionally, they also recognized Dr. Dorothy Winslow, the school principal, upon her retirement as well.

Craig Vaughn is a reporter for the Farmington Press and can be reached at 573-518-3629 or at


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News