The Art Blooms Banner Contest ushered in the colors of spring as the winning entries were hung on Farmington light poles in late March. “My Favorite Things” was this year's theme as The City of Farmington and Mineral Area Council on the Arts (MACOA) once again partnered to organize the event.

Starting in January, more than 1,000 entries poured in from K-12 student artists throughout the area. In February, a committee representing MACOA and the city chose 80 winning banner designs.

“This contest has become a wonderful way to kick off spring in Farmington,” said MACOA Executive Director Danielle Basler. "We look forward to this project each year, and are always impressed with the creativity and talent of the young artists in our area.”

The banners will be on display until late fall, and are located on Columbia Street from Boyce Street to Ste. Genevieve Avenue near the Farmington Police Department, as well as on Jefferson, Washington, and Liberty Streets around the St. Francois County Courthouse and Annex buildings. Maps of the display will be available at www.MineralAreaArts.org

The featured artists will be honored at a reception on tonight at 5 p.m. at Long Memorial Hall in Farmington. MACOA and the City of Farmington wish to congratulate the 80 artists chosen to have work featured in this year’s display.

The artists include Paige Canterberry, Tinsley Ventimiglia, Grace Hand, Isabelle Burgess, Karson Hurtz, Kambria Tracy, Kya Whitener, Landen Monrotus, Noah Johnson, Ceyda Memis, Renleigh LaCava, Conner Reeves, Katie Wilson, Brandt Blaty, Trey Berkbigler, Riya Stevens, Adelyn Lipe, Haylee Pyatt, Hayden Suedkamp, Jonas Loughary, Zeke Moyers, Hattie Vinyard, Anna Shotwell, Lindsay Bloom, Macy Davis,

Alisa Allen, Lexie Viner, Rylee Vuylsteke, Ty Wampler, Destiny Menke, Abby Kahn, Jenna Ikemeier, Kinley Walden, Lexie Reed, Allison Scott, Anthony Kennon, Ava Obenauer, Hadley Dowell, Isaac Jones, Anna Pyatt, Bailey Wimmer, Haylie Eller, Nyah Parker, Nadia O’Neal, Kate Northern, Maddox Brenneke, Emma Burgess, Sammi Layton, Elizabeth Varhalla, Bella Hermann, Karly Wilson, Cole Zimmerman, Faith Jarvis,

Kyle Inman, McKennah Wallace, Bella Jenkins, Ciara Miller, Taber Stone, Alyssa Howard, Maya Hemphill, Lilee Jones, Chloe Crouch, Cierra Layton, Jaden George, Noley Kitchell, Jaidyn Phelps, Jonathan Brown, Samantha Payne, Alisa Price, Madelynn Courtney, Maerisa Easter, Allie McWherter, Brooklynn Fitzwater, Paige Weiss, Hannah Amelung, Trinity Chappell, Emilia Torres, Ann Raymer, Gwen Layton, and Laney Tucker.

For more information on this or other Mineral Area Council on the Arts programs, contact Danielle Basler at 573-518-2125.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Matt McFarland is a reporter for the Daily Journal. He can be reached at 573-518-3616, or at mmcfarland@dailyjournalonline.com.


Load comments