CHS graduates 103

A total of 103 Central High School graduates gather for what likely may be the last time in one place to receive their high school diplomas during commencement Thursday evening. 

View additional photos online at dailyjournalonline.com

On Thursday night, Pomp and Circumstance, played by the Central High School Concert band, marched 103 students into the T.J. Foulon Field House for their final gathering as high school students.

Following the processional, guests were welcomed by high school Principal Michael Johnson and Student Council Co-President Madison Manion.

The Central High School Concert Choir performed “Seasons of Love,” reminding graduates, students, parents and guests that time as well as life can be measured in many ways, but the greatest ways to measure life is in love and truth.

High school counselors Ken Halter and Whitney Murray presented recipients of various scholarships and also recognized students who had completed the A+ program.

Johnson then recognized those graduates who had received UniTec awards, as well as other students who were graduating with honors.

Salutatorian Katherine Galvan spoke to her fellow seniors about how this day would be a day to remember. This day was an enormous sense of accomplishment.

“Although we have faced many challenges, because of our perseverance and dedication I have no doubt we will succeed,” said Galvan.

She left her classmates with this final challenge, “Shine bright, my friends, and succeed.”

Valedictorian Hadlee Woods spoke to her classmates in a speech titled “Thankful for the past, hopeful for the future.”

Woods talked about the extensive support system that she and her fellow classmates have had throughout the years. Woods thanked parents, teachers and her classmates.

“We have all spent a lot of time together over the years and we have become like a second family,” said Woods.

She said that this ceremony may likely be the last time the 103 students would be together in the same place.

“No matter where our roads may take us, we will always have this night,” said Woods.

The ceremony was closed with the turning of the tassels and remarks by class vice president and student council co-president, Jade Brewer. She thanked her strong support system, including her parents, family, teachers and peers. She encouraged her fellow classmates to keep in touch, particularly since they all have social media.

“So with that being said, follow me on Instagram,” said Brewer.

The graduates are Paige Elizabeth Anderson, Anna Elizabeth Antonic, Megan Adell Bailes, Derek Thomas Bainbridge, Greta Lyn Balasz, Walter Eugene Berry, Tyson Daniel Kelly Blocker, Chase Daniel Bowyer, Karah Renee Branch, Jade Ashlyn Brewer, Mina Brodersen, Karoline Joan Brown, Michael Laine Cantrell, Jake Blaine Casey, Paige Renae Cash, Peyton Genae Cash, Tanner James Cassidy, Mackenzie Noel Chapman, Bradey Carl Clark. Ryan Alexander Corcoran, Savanya Lynn-Joy Cross, Dawson Lee Day, Teagan Dale Day, Stephanie June DeRousse, Stephen James DeRousse, Blaine Matthew Dodson, Gabrielle Renee Duncan, Hannah Renee Duncan, Madison Rene'e Farley, Abby Leigh Fitzgerald, Connor James French, Daniel Scott French, Matthew Shane French Jr., Tanner Ray Friend, Katherine Marian Galvan, Baileigh Michelle George, Grant Michael Goheen, Ciarra Arlene Sue Gross, Sydney Jayne Hamilton, William Calvin Hopkins, Keaton Benjamin House, Allison Jo Hovis, Alexander Timothy Huff, Kennedy Rae Huff, Jordan Denzel Jackson, Billie-Jean Jaffe, Vanessa Megan Johnson, Callista Nicole Jones, Isaac Hunter Jones, Jeremy Miles Jones, Jr., Daniel Ashton Kemp, Tylor Brian Kennon, Natalie Ann Kiefer, Kurtis Joseph Kile, Danyelle Rose Klempert, Haylee Marie Knight, Sarah Kotelnicki, Blake Tyler Koontz, Sabrina Marie Krauss, Morgan Elizabeth LaChance, Teri Leah Laster, William Patrick Lucy, Madison Nichole Manion, Gemini Kellie McBride, Yancy Kalin McCarron, Colleen Elise McEntire, Madison Danelle Mesey, Makenzie Nicole Miller, Amber Marie Mitchell, Tyler Wayne Murray, Dilnaz Nurzhanovna Nauryzbayeva, Reilly Griffin Olson Noll, Austin Shane Parker, Britney Alexis Parker, Rosalynn Chelse Pax, Jose Angel Pompa, Davian Maurice Powell, Denis Raparelli, Riley Alizabeth Rayfield, John Taylor Reece, Haley Anna Reese, Kady Renae Richardson, MacKenzie Cheyanne Rolens, Katherine Renea Rumpell, Kevin Ray Russell Jr., Chase Logan Sellers, Evan Michael Sidebottom, Rachel Nicole Smith, Amber Renee Snyder, Bradley Michael Stephens, Hannah Lynn Stewart , Allison Rose Stotler, Jessica Michelle Thebeau, Callie Kay Thurston, Kyra Nicole Valley, Rebecca Ann Voyles, Jacob Lee Wagganer, Tyler James Walker, Kimberlyn Dane Wallen, Hailey Ann Nicole Walters, Lilyan Kaylee Whited, Hadlee Matilyn Woods and Andrew David Wyrick.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Matt McFarland is a reporter for the Daily Journal. He can be reached at 573-518-3616, or at mmcfarland@dailyjournalonline.com.


Load comments