Subscribe for 17¢ / day
All-MAAA Softball

North County sophomore Emma Becker joined teammates Kennedy Kohler and Michaela Mason as MAAA fall softball all-conference selections after the Lady Raiders finished the regular season with a 10-0 record.

FREDERICKTOWN – North County has reaped the benefits of claiming the final MAAA fall softball regular season championship with six all-conference selections.

The Lady Raiders finished league play with a perfect 8-0 record, and were often powered by the bat of Emma Becker, who smashed nine home runs to lead the MAAA.

Fellow sophomore Kennedy Kohler and junior pitcher Michaela Mason join Becker among 10 First Team players chosen within the conference.

Potosi made school history by posting a single-season record of 15 wins, and topped North County 6-1 to capture its first MAAA tournament crown.

The Lady Trojans likewise earned three First Team honors – lone senior and center fielder Paige Battreal, sophomore shortstop Kennedy Coleman and freshman first baseman Jaci Short.

Farmington endured a season of inconsistency despite starting off with eight seniors. But three Knights have still achieved First Team status.

Senior shortstop and pitcher Alyson Tucker capped a stellar four-year varsity run – making the Class 3 all-state squad as a junior – and has verbally committed to Jefferson College next season.

Farmington teammates Hannah Wood and Jocelyn Cunningham give the conference three freshman on the First Team along with Short.

Ste. Genevieve junior catcher Julia Koetting completes the elite group after setting a team record for RBI in a season.

The fall version of MAAA softball will dissolve this offseason as Potosi and Ste. Genevieve transition their programs to the spring along with former conference member Central.

Farmington and North County have already begun taking steps toward seeking inclusion into the SEMO Conference next season.

2017 MAAA All-Conference Softball

First Team:

Paige Battreal – Potosi

Emma Becker – North County

Kennedy Coleman – Potosi

Jocelyn Cunningham – Farmington

Julia Koetting – Ste. Genevieve

Kennedy Kohler – North County

Michaela Mason – North County

Jaci Short – Potosi

Alyson Tucker – Farmington

Hannah Wood – Farmington

Second Team:

Kylie Bastie – Fredericktown

Emily Briese – Farmington

Kiersdan Davis – North County

Sally Grieshaber – Ste. Genevieve

Jaiden Grimes – Farmington

Alyssa Huber – Ste. Genevieve

Hannah Jarvis – Potosi

Sydney Litton – Potosi

Sam Payne – North County

Maizie Tyree – North County


Load comments